Hirschman Wins First Ferris Mowers Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series fueled by Sunoco Race of 2016

Mitchell Wright (Super Stocks) and Mike Bond (Small Block Supermodifieds) also Win

Matt Hirschman

Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa., claimed his first Ferris Mowers Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series fueled by Sunoco race win of 2016 in the longest event of the year, the 66th Annual Race of Champions 250 at Oswego Speedway. It was the fourth victory for Hirschman in the prestigious event, which tied him with his legendary Father, Tony, who also has four Race of Champions victories. Tony Hirschman’s last win in the event also came at Oswego in 2010.

Matt has now won the event four out of the last five years.

“This means a great deal to my family,” stated Hirschman. “It’s an important part of modified racing history and means a great deal to the sport.”

Hirschman slipped past Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y., on lap 216 to take the lead and never look back.

“It was the chance we needed and we were able to capitalize on it,” stated Hirschman in regard to his pass of Emerling. “I didn’t give up at all and we needed something to happen like this to win it. This Series is challenging, these guys have all stepped up and it is very competitive. Patrick (Emerling) is really on his game right now. I’m very happy for my team and family. This is a huge win for us.”

Emerling came home second to secure the Series championship.

“We have a lot to be proud of this year,” offered Emerling, who led the Series with 7 race wins. “This entire team worked their tails off all year and it has been tremendous. We wanted to cap it off with a win tonight, but that just wasn’t in the cards.”

Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, N.Y., who finished second in the championship standings, led the field to the green and the first 43 circuits before a mechanical issues ultimately sidelined him from contention. Emerling inherited the lead at that point and led until Hirschman made his pass.

Mike Leaty of Williamson, N.Y., came home third in the race and the season championship standings. Andy Jankowkiak of North Tonawanda, N.Y., finished fourth and Daren Scherer of Binghamton, N.Y., rounded out the top-five. Scherer also came home fourth in the season ending championship standings.

Hossfeld posted the fast time for the event which earned him the pole for the event while Bryan Sherwood, Daryl Lewis, Jr., and Chris Pasteryak earned the qualifying race victories for the 66thAnnual Race of Champions.

Mike Bond of Mexico, N.Y., won the Small Block Supermodified race, while Mitchell Wright of Henrietta, N.Y., won the Super Stock race.