By: Gene Ostrowski

October 29, 201

St. Johns, PA (10/15/2016)- The stage was set for the final on track show of the 2016 racing season at Evergreen raceway in St. Johns, PA. With above normal temperatures, the “Halloween Screamer” Enduros were destined to be a great finale for the fans with the track under new management this season. When it was all said and done, Mark Spencer of Nanticoke edged Pete Verwys to the checkers for his second straight Four Cylinder Enduro victory. TJ Kapish of Mountaintop lapped the entire field en route to his 6/8-Cylinder domination and Luke Hoffner lapped the Open Competition field four times in the process of nothing his first win of the season in his dirt Late Model. Ironically, it’s the first time that dirt Late Model has been to victory lane at the speedway since Richie Jensen.

Carl Altemose led the Four Cylinder field to the drop of the green flag in the 100-lap Enduro. He led the first circuit over Mark Spencer, Pete Verwys, Randy Boston and Chris Elixton. Two laps later, Spencer grabbed the top spot and shortly after, Verwys followed through for second.

Verwys stayed glued to Spencer through lapped traffic and then just past the 30 lap mark in the event, he made his move to take the lead. With 50 laps complete he led over Spencer, Altemose, Paul Mercante and Bryan Kelly.

With Spencer running less than a straight away behind the leader and with 15 laps remaining, three cars blocked the high side of the track in turn four. With nowhere to go, Verwys was forced to stop, which allowed Spencer to close and, then overtake the leader.

Despite reeling in Spencer over the remaining laps, Verwys ran out of time and settled for second to Spencer. Mercante, Frank Petroski and Elixton completed the top five.

Harry O’Neill led the 6/8-Cylinder field to the drop of the green flag in the 100-lap Enduro, but his day went up in smoke before a lap was scored. TJ Kapish took the lead and led the opening circuit over Altemose, Walt Lemmlon and Chris Rose.

With 12 laps complete and with Kapish setting a torrid pace, Ed Brown, Jr. overtook Altemose for second.

Only two red flags slowed the event, which showcased Kapish pulling from his competition. He went on to take the win by a lap over Brown, Altemose, Rob Longo and Dennis Kurras.

From now through November 5, the track is hosting “EVERSCREAM” on Friday and Saturday nights. EVERSCREAM consists of two haunted attractions, one being their haunted trail through the woods and the second is the corn maze of horror. Admission for both attractions is just $10. Patrons are also invited to view scary movies on the projection screen. Concessions will be open for EVERSCREAM, which will be open from dusk. Nightly ticket sales will stop at 10 PM.

Evergreen Raceway is located minutes from Hazleton, PA, in between routes 93 and 309. For more information regarding Evergreen Raceway, including the entire season schedule, directions and divisional payouts, please visit www.evergreenracewaypark.com and don’t forget to like their Facebook page as well.

Evergreen Raceway is proud to be associated with Harry’s U Pull It, Penn’s Peak Radio, Sour Apple Auto & Customs, CK Auto Service & Race Fab, Himmer Graphics, Valve Tech Sales, Penn’s Peak, Printers Edge, Electric Frog Designs, Cargill of Hazleton, Tito Juice & RockAuto.com.

Four Cylinder (100-laps) 1. MARK SPENCER 2. Pete Verwys 3. Paul Mercante 4. Frank Petroski 5. Chris Elixon 6. Randy Ahner Jr 7. Luke Hoffner 8. Ray Kennedy 9. Carl Altemose 10. Bill Feist 11. Mike Mujsce 12. Randy Boston 13. Dave Imler 14. Dave Imler Jr 15. Tom Stevens 16. Jeff Statkiewicz 17.Brad Mayette 18. Harry Meade 19. Chris Trumbauer 20. Ron Singley 21. John Rose 22.Brayden Spencer 23. Robert Jakubowski 24. Hunter Iatalese 25. Kevin Kruczek 26. Austin Fitzgerld 27. Brian Halecki 28. Matt Llyod 29. Jimmy Horn 30. Bryan Kelly 31. Nathan Weaver 32. Frank Shetler 33. Tony Rispin 34. Ed Wildes 35. Eric Germuth 36. David Wolfe 37. Ryan Warren 38. Richard Wolfe 39. Chris Small 40. Mark Schwalm 41.Ed Spencer 42. TJ Kapish 43. Roy Denke

6/8-Cylinder (100-laps) 1. TJ KAPISH 2. Ed Brown Jr 3. Carl Altemose 4. Rob Longo 5. Dennis Kurras 6. Woody lixon 7. Steve Brooks 8. Ray Kennedy  9. Lauren Gimbi 10. Ryan Warren 11. John O’Rourke 12. Bill Fiest 13. Gary Landis 14. Walt Lemmlon 15. Dave Imler 16. Lindsay Michel 17.Robert Jakubowski 18. Chris Rose 19. Scott Storm 20. Bryan Moore 21. Luke Hoffner 22.Charles Lauble 23. Joseph Mazillo 24. Bobby Boone 25. John Rose  26. Mike Benton 27. Devin Gibson 28. Harry O’Neill

Open Comp (30-laps) 1. LUKE HOFFNER 2. Rich Patterson 3. Gary Landis