-Final New York Asphalt Modified Race of 2016 Season-

Oswego, N.Y. – (October 28, 2016) – The 66th Annual Race of Champions 250 will be run Saturday, October 29, featuring the Ferris Mowers Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series fueled by Sunoco. This will be the final event of the 2016 season and the most anticipated, with $12,500 going to the winner and the series championship will be decided.

Grandstand gates for the event will open at 12:30pm and the schedule may be adjusted if necessary to accommodate any potential weather delays.

Additional qualifers will be added to the set field of 28 cars, with those entrants starting behind any previously qualified driver.

Qualifying positions remain open to all teams interested in participating in the Ferris Mowers Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series fueled by Sunoco, the Super Stock All-Star, which the top-16 have already been locked in. The previous criteria based on the original weekend is no longer in effect and any Super Stock team wishing to participate in the Super Stock All-Star is eligible to attend and start behind the top-16. The same is in place for any Small Block Supermodified team that wishes to compete.

$5 discount coupons toward the purchase of any ticket have been placed throughout the region for fans to receive an additional discount off the reduced price of the ticket for the event.

$5 discount coupons are available throughout the region, including the Oswego Speedway box office; Lighthouse Lanes; Cam’s Pizzeria; A&P Automotive; Burger King; Dunkin’ Donuts; the Holiday Inn Express; the Knight’s Inn; Quality Inn; Best Western and the Press Box Restaurant all in Oswego as well as select Sunoco locations throughout Central New York and Ontario County. Additional locations for $5 discount coupons are; Roger Phelps Used Cars in Phoenix, N.Y.; Mr. Auto Parts in Ontario, N.Y.; Wilbert’s U-Pull It in Williamson, N.Y.; the Red Roof Inn in Fulton, N.Y.; Airport Collision and Airport Truck and Auto in Cheektowaga, N.Y.; Jerry Gradl Motors in North Tonawanda, N.Y.; Vicari’s Pizzeria in Ontario, N.Y.; Rite Aid in Wolcott, N.Y.

Where: Oswego Speedway, Oswego, N.Y.

When: Saturday, October 29, 2016

Directions: The track is located at 300 E. Albany Street in Oswego, N.Y., just off of NY Route 104. 35 minutes North of Syracuse near the shores of Lake Ontario.

What: The 66th Annual Race of Champions Weekend. The Ferris Mowers Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series fueled by Sunoco 66th Annual Race of Champions 250, the Super Stock “All-Star”; Small Block Supermodifieds.

More Information: www.oswegospeedway.com/ (Track Phone: 315.342.0646) / www.rocmodifiedseries.com

Briggs & Stratton Corporation, headquartered in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, is the world’s largest producer of gasoline engines for outdoor power equipment. Its wholly owned subsidiaries include North America’s number one marketer of portable generators, pressure washers and turf care products, and it is a leading designer, manufacturer and marketer of lawn and garden, turf care and job site products through its Simplicity®, Snapper®, Snapper Pro®, Ferris®, Allmand™, Billy Goat®, Murray®, Branco® and Victa® brands. Briggs & Stratton products are designed, manufactured, marketed and serviced in over 100 countries on six continents. For additional information, please visit www.basco.com and www.briggsandstratton.com.


The Race of Champions is a sanctioning body presenting Modified and Stock Car racing on asphalt and dirt surfaces throughout the Northeast, with events in New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey. The 66th annual Race of Champions weekend will take place in 2016 and is the second longest consecutive auto-racing event in North America, second only to the Indianapolis 500.

Follow us on Twitter; Instagram and Facebook; @RoCModSeries or visit our website: www.rocmodifiedseries.com        

Starting Lineup for the 66th Annual Race of Champions – October 29, 2016;

1.)     22 Chuck Hossfeld               2.) 60 Matt Hirschman

3.)     07 Patrick Emerling              4.) 65 George Skora, Jr.

5.)     25 Mike Leaty                      6.) 3 Daren Scherer

7.)     95 Bryan Sherwood             8.) 10 Daryl Lewis, Jr.

9.)     15 Chris Pasteryak              10.) 37 Andy Jankowiak

11.) 54 Tommy Catalano              12.) 51 T.J. Potrzebowski

13.) 27 Donny Hartzell                 14.) 32 Tyler Rypkema

15.) 14 Doug Reaume                  16.) 66 Austin Kochenash

17.) 8 Lee Sharpsteen                  18.) 27w Billy Whittaker

19.) 59 Karl Hehr                          20.) 65L Andy Lewis

21.) 19 Brandon Oltra                  22.) 34 Rusty Smith

23.) 1 Chris Risdale                      24.) 39 Calvin Carroll

25.) 40 Tommy Rought                26.) 64 Amy Catalano

27.) 2 Don Hanbury                     28.) 17 Ken Canestrari

29.)                                             30.)

31.)                                             32.)

*** Please Note: This is the starting lineup as of the conclusion of qualifying on September 17, 2016 and does not reflect any additional cars qualifying and/or changes that may be reflected in the lineup on Saturday, October 29. Any additional cars will start behind the cars that previously qualified, including any guaranteed starters that were not present on September 17.